Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Fourteenth of Ivaris, Sixteen Seventy-Four

Is it sorcery or enchantment that draws my mind to him, and draws me in to indecency? I cannot recall the beginning of my relationship with Margret, if I could I might know if it is decent with Tam. Oh to have an A’Ladrea Kudar here. I have read that they can ensnare a mortal mind and lay its secrets bare, to think what I might learn from my young varlet. Distance is the only true problem, and of course the antiquated laws outlawing most form’s of magic. I think it to be unlikely that the A’Ladree practice thaumaturgy, let alone thaumaturgy warranted by the Shining Lord and his ilk. He returned twenty minutes earlier than I had expected, thankfully I had the letter written and sealed before he had returned. He returned because the silversmith’s apprentice had dislodged one of the stones which warranted my attention.

On the ride to her workshop we chatted and I found out more about him, well, more than the fact that he can drive a motorcar. Tam is his only name, it seems that he was born to a Child of Venus in a chapel in Jarrow; Chapels such as that are little more than brothels. As Tam was born with green eyes, his father assumed the Venus-born whore was trying to pass off another man’s child as his own. He refused to pay for the service and the green-eyed baby was sent to the orphanage a few streets over. Cast out of the Star-born orphanage at twelve he found work at a small guest house for a year or two before he felt the calling of the night sky. As a child born of the Starry Heavens he has always held a fascination for the pin pricks of light that dance across our night sky. Little more than fifteen he’d made his way to this very town and signed on with the Southern Viscairn trading company. The story is such that if it is a fabrication I can almost believe it to be true.

While he doesn’t bear any of the celestial seals — that I have seen — it is still a possibility. It is almost unheard of for a Child of The Starry Heavens to not breed true, but I have read of cases of such. It happens from time to time. Priests of the Shining Lord insist that it is their god exerting his will and dominance over the Heaven’s forcing them to relinquish their claim over a mortal. A fanciful thought but I believe I agree more with the theory posed by astronomers. Astral tides. Well Astral Flux actually. Which could be considered by some observers as the Lord of Light ‘exerting’ his luminous will. Maybe. Honestly I believe astronomers and the like may be fabricating evidence or, more likely, suffering from deluded flights of fancy. I have never felt any difference when Venus is at its zenith nor when it is at its nadir. Is it possible I am broken and that other Children do feel the thrum of the Celestials? Perhaps it is because I was not born to a Child of The Starry Heavens that I have never fully felt the calling. But I digress for the day is short and that is a subject that could be discussed until the end of time.

It is true, I am a vapid and vain Child of Venus. While I speak about the possible snake in my midst and wonder if he holds venom in truth Tam is far from my mind. I can only think of the letter I have sent to our Crown Prince– soon to be King. By train it takes at most two days to reach the capital. Should I have sent one of the spare footmen or housemaids to ensure that the letter was received? No, Uncle would have been most annoyed if I had done that; He would have suggested that I send Tam and that just is not an option. A telegram maybe. Would the prince see that as too familiar? No, telegrams are never an option in private correspondence. The letter passes through too many hands, too many people could read it. Here I am worrying if he will respond, I should be worrying that he even will read it. To him I am just a Child-Lord and of little consequence.

There is always a price on your head. Every action drives that price higher or lower. Do not make that bounty any more attractive than it is.

A’ladrea: Pronounced Ah-La-DRee. An ethnicity/nationality.

Kudar: Pronounced Coo-DaHr. Essentially a Shaman or Spirit Speaker.

Viscairn: Pronounced Viz-k-AIR-n.